Silvano Spinelli

Venture Partner

Experience

In 2018, Silvano has become a Venture Partner at Sofinnova.

Silvano is the founder and Chairman of the board of BiovelocITA, Italy’s first biotech accelerator, sponsored by Sofinnova. He founded EOS S.p.A. (Ethical Oncology Science), a Sofinnova Capital V portfolio company, in 2006 and has been its Chairman and CEO until the company was acquired by Clovis Oncology, Inc in 2013 for up to $470m.
Previously Silvano was co-founder and CEO of Novuspharma, a Sofinnova Capital III portfolio company. In 2000, the company went public on the Italian Nuovo Mercato, raising more than €160m. Novuspharma was acquired by Cell Therapeutics, Inc. (CTI) in 2003.
Silvano was previously Head of R&D at Boehringer Mannheim Italy. He holds a degree in Organic Chemistry achieved at the University of Pisa. Sofinnova has been the lead investor in all these initiatives.

Silvano Spinelli

Venture Partner

Experience

En 2018, Silvano est devenu  Venture Partner chez Sofinnova.
Silvano est le fondateur et le président du conseil d’administration de BiovelocITA, premier accélérateur biotechnologique italien, sponsorisé par Sofinnova. Il a fondé EOS S.p.A. (Ethical Oncology Science), une société du portefeuille de Sofinnova Capital V, en 2006 et en a été le PDG jusqu’à l’acquisition de la société par Clovis Oncology, Inc en 2013 pour un montant maximum de 470 M $.
Silvano a été le co-fondateur et PDG de Novuspharma, une société de portefeuille de Sofinnova Capital III. En 2000, l’entreprise est devenue publique sur le marché italien Nuovo Mercato, recueillant plus de 160 millions d’euros. Novuspharma a été acquise par Cell Therapeutics, Inc. (CTI) en 2003.
Silvano était responsable de la R & D chez Boehringer Mannheim Italie. Il est titulaire d’un diplôme en chimie organique obtenu à l’Université de Pise. Sofinnova a été le principal investisseur dans toutes ces initiatives.