Jacques Theurillat

Partner, Crossover fund

Joined in 2016

Experience

Jacques joined Sofinnova in 2017 and brings the Crossover Team his extensive experience in biopharmaceutical company operations, as well as in making private as well as public investments. His experience in building from the base a team of international investors to deploy a new strategy is also  important for the Crossover Team. He is expected to take positions on board of some of the public companies in which the Fund will invest.
Jacques Theurillat co-founded in 2008 and managed Ares Life Sciences, a privately owned investment fund with the objective to build and manage a portfolio of companies in life sciences. Jacques built a new team of 9 professionals and invested €1.25bn in six public and private companies including Euromedic International BV, Esaote Spa, Bronchus Technologies Inc, Santhera Pharmaceuricals, Stallergenes SA, Greer Inc. In June 2015, Stallergenes and Greer merged creating the worldwide market leader in Allergy Immunotherapy.
Jacques had previously spent almost 20 years in the Serono pharmaceutical group where he was Deputy CEO and Senior Executive Vice President, Strategic Corporate Development, responsible for Serono’s global strategy and in-licensing initiatives. Jacques also served as Serono’s President of European and International Sales & Marketing and CFO. In his various roles at Serono, Jacques was responsible for several major equity financings of the company including the $2bn listing on the NYSE in 2000, one of the largest ever Biotech secondary offering worldwide. Jacques was also involved in the process that led to the sale of the company to Merck KGA for CHF14bn.
Jacques is a Swiss barrister and holds Bachelor of Law degrees from both Madrid University and Geneva University. He also holds a Swiss Federal Diploma (Tax Expert) and has a Master’s degree in Finance.

Jacques Theurillat

Partner, Crossover fund

Experience

Jacques a rejoint Sofinnova en 2017 et apporte à l’équipe Crossover sa vaste expérience dans les opérations de sociétés biopharmaceutiques, ainsi que dans les investissements privés et publics. Son expérience dans la construction d’une équipe d’investisseurs internationaux pour déployer une nouvelle stratégie est également importante au moment de la création de l’équipe Crossover. Il devrait occuper des postes au sein de certaines sociétés ouvertes dans lesquelles le Fonds investira.
Jacques Theurillat a cofondé en 2008 et géré Ares Life Sciences, un fonds d’investissement privé ayant pour objectif de constituer et gérer un portefeuille d’entreprises dans le domaine des sciences de la vie. Jacques a construit une nouvelle équipe de 9 professionnels et investi 1,25 milliard d’euros dans six entreprises publiques et privées, dont Euromedic International BV, Esaote Spa, Bronchus Technologies Inc, Santhera Pharmaceuticals, Stallergenes SA, Greer Inc. En juin 2015, Stallergenes et Greer ont fusionné leader mondial du marché de l’immunothérapie allergique.
Auparavant, Jacques a passé près de 20 ans au sein du groupe pharmaceutique Serono, où il était vice-directeur général et premier vice-président exécutif du développement stratégique de l’entreprise, responsable de la stratégie globale de Serono et des initiatives d’octroi de licences. Jacques a également occupé le poste de président des ventes et du marketing européen et international de Serono et de CFO. Dans ses différents rôles chez Serono, Jacques était responsable de plusieurs financements par actions majeurs de la société, y compris l’introduction de 2 milliards de dollars sur le NYSE en 2000, l’une des plus importantes offres secondaires Biotech dans le monde. Jacques a également été impliqué dans le processus qui a conduit à la vente de la société à Merck KGA pour 14 milliards de francs.
Jacques est avocat suisse et titulaire d’un baccalauréat en droit de l’Université de Madrid et de l’Université de Genève. Il détient également un diplôme fédéral suisse (expert fiscal) et une maîtrise en finance.